Forgiveness ~ active, compelling, dynamic; not a passive feeling

sunriseToday, on purpose, I will forgive all the people (who are no more perfect than I am, and that’s all of them) in my life who are causing me angst, consternation, confusion, and in real time presenting real problems. Today, on purpose, I will forgive all the people in my life (as imperfect as I am) who carry childhood baggage, college and first job hurts, adult disappointments, setbacks, and loss, just as I do…and all that stuff is coloring their behavior.

Forgiveness is not some passive feeling that wafts up on us once in a while. Well, not the God kind of forgiveness. Forgiveness is a dynamic action of the heart that believers often must will to do. We do it on purpose even when our flesh cries out, “they don’t deserve it.” And maybe they don’t. If I want to be free of the pain, hurt, and the weight of it, I’ll forgive and let it go. Then I can walk with a lighter step, feel real happiness and joy.

Purposeful forgiveness doesn’t mean we allow toxic people to continue to injure us. No! We’re not doormats. We must be wise as serpents and take actions using wisdom to protect ourselves. However, we do not allow ourselves to become as toxic in the situation as the the other injurious individual(s).

And, I’m not going to whine or complain to anyone about these situations either. Those who know me, can attest that at times I’ve taken whining and complaining to an art form. I’m not going to phone anyone complaining about all this forgiveness stuff and how hard it is. If I want to whine and complain about it, I’ll go to God. He’ll shut that down. He’ll remind me, I’m not forgiving on myown inner strength and fortitude, but on Christ’s strength and fortitude that’s within me.

Colossians 1:27 [NASB] ~ to whom God willed to make known what is the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles, which is Christ in you, the hope of glory.

Philippians 4:13 [NASB] ~ I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.

About NikeChillemi

Nike Chillemi has been called a crime fictionista due to her passion for crime fiction. She writes literature that reads like pulp fiction. She likes her bad guys really bad, and her good guys smarter and better. She is the founder and chair of the Grace Awards, a member of ACFW. She has judged numerous literary awards including the Grace Awards, Carol Awards, Inspy Awards, and the Eric Hoffer Awards. View all posts by NikeChillemi

7 responses to “Forgiveness ~ active, compelling, dynamic; not a passive feeling

Leave a Reply

