Neighborhood Clean-Up After Matthew ~ a dirty job

img_2174

This morning, after walking Sophie around the immediate neighborhood to check out the aftermath of Hurricane Matthew, I came home and cleaned up the tree limbs and debris from my yard. Then I was too exhausted to even make a sandwich. Since our area has power,  went down the road to the Golden Corral for lunch.

 

img_2165

Thankfully, there wasn’t much damage. That may be because most of my neighbors have chainsaws and when they have a sick tree behave as if they’re in a scene from “Chainsaw Massacre” and immediately take it down. So, there wasn’t much for Mother Nature to do in that regard. ~~ The tree on my corner, kitty-corner from my house.

 

img_2167

 

 

Tree limbs down outside the playground of the Christian school down the street from my house.

 

 

 

img_2166

I heard something(s) banging around outside last night but it was too dark to see what was making the racket. I believe the culprits were the garbage can somebody left outside at the church across the street and a plastic planter somebody didn’t secure. ~ Since I lived through Super Storm Sandy in Brooklyn, I’m storm preparedness compulsive. I take everything inside, everything.

 

 

img_2168

 

 

The only damage I saw was this tree limb down on my neighbor’s fence.

 

 

 

 

 

img_2171

 

A tree on Sophie’s walking route that has weathered many a storm and has the battle scars.

 

 

 

 

img_2175

 

 

The only tree I saw uprooted was in the front yard of a house for sale. I guess nobody from the cast of “Chainsaw Massacre” lives there anymore to mercilessly take down a sick tree.

 

 

Tomorrow I go to my church, which is on the beach, for Sunday services. I’ll get a first look at the damage in that community from Matthew. Though, I understand community efforts at clean up have been so swift that I won’t see the true level of devastation.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About NikeChillemi

Nike Chillemi has been called a crime fictionista due to her passion for crime fiction. She writes literature that reads like pulp fiction. She likes her bad guys really bad, and her good guys smarter and better. She is the founder and chair of the Grace Awards, a member of ACFW. She has judged numerous literary awards including the Grace Awards, Carol Awards, Inspy Awards, and the Eric Hoffer Awards. View all posts by NikeChillemi

Comments are disabled.

