Sunday Morning in My Neighborhood ~ far away from the bombing in my former hometown

img_2118

 

Walking Sophie, my gal pal, on this misty Sunday morning in NE Florida is quiet and relaxing. I took a few photos and couldn’t help contrasting this bucolic scene with what was going on in my former hometown, NYC, after last night’s street bombing. Thirty people were injured.

 

img_2111

 

 

If Sophie and I walk to the right when we leave the house. No place to hide a pressure-cooker bomb with a note and a cell phone.

 

 

 

img_2112

 

 

If Sophie and I walk to the left. At the end of this street there is a rooster crowing.

 

 

img_2114

 

 

Instead we chose to walk straight ahead where this tree had a major branch come down a week before Hurricane Hermine. We do get tropical storms with high winds.

 

My heart and prayers are with New Yorkers and also the people of Seaside, NJ who also had a bombing last night that thankfully failed to go off during the Marine Corps race. I know this is so scary, yet I also know the people of NYC and New Jersey are strong and will fight back against any type of terrorism.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Save

About NikeChillemi

Nike Chillemi has been called a crime fictionista due to her passion for crime fiction. She writes literature that reads like pulp fiction. She likes her bad guys really bad, and her good guys smarter and better. She is the founder and chair of the Grace Awards, a member of ACFW. She has judged numerous literary awards including the Grace Awards, Carol Awards, Inspy Awards, and the Eric Hoffer Awards. View all posts by NikeChillemi

7 responses to “Sunday Morning in My Neighborhood ~ far away from the bombing in my former hometown

