I’m a First Time Voter in Florida ~ what a rush

IMG_2100

 

I couldn’t wait to vote this time, and it’s only a state primary but I just moved here from New York City. So it was kind of thrilling to be voting in the sunshine state.

I turned on my GPS and found my polling place with absolutely no problem.

 

IMG_2098

 

It was gratifying to see quite a number of cars in the polling location parking lot. After I slid my ballot through the electronic vote counting machine, they gave me a red, white, and blue sticker that said, “I Vote”.

 

I decided NOT to vote for Marco Rubio for two reasons, though I’m sure he’s going to win the primary and I WILL vote for him in November.

  1. He tends not to show up much on the floor to do his job.
  2. He hasn’t given only anemic support to Donald J. Trump.

I voted for Carlos Beruff because he is challenging Rubio on his pathetic work ethic and because Beruff exemplifies the Republican populist movement desiring to clean up Washington, D.C. When Rubio wins, I want him to know there was substantial grass-roots displeasure with him. I hope he gets the message, but I doubt he will.

I’m not at all AltRight, the name Hillary is trying to hang on Trump supporters. I’m much more ConPop (conservative populist).

About NikeChillemi

Nike Chillemi has been called a crime fictionista due to her passion for crime fiction. She writes literature that reads like pulp fiction. She likes her bad guys really bad, and her good guys smarter and better. She is the founder and chair of the Grace Awards, a member of ACFW. She has judged numerous literary awards including the Grace Awards, Carol Awards, Inspy Awards, and the Eric Hoffer Awards. View all posts by NikeChillemi

4 responses to “I’m a First Time Voter in Florida ~ what a rush

  • Saundra Staats McLemore

    Did you check for “Hanging Chads”? 🙂

    Like

  • MarlaHughes

    Marco Rubio not only shows up to do his job but has one of the highest results record in the Senate. Carlos Beruff tried to buy his way into the job and thank God he didn’t succeed.
    Rubio has been on top of the green algae situation here in Florida, Zika funding, Iran deal, taxes on Olympic medals (Floridians won quite a few), sits on and has input to foreign policy and intelligence committees in the Senate and is likely to be in leadership when he beats the pants off of Patrick Murphy. The myth of him being a do nothing Senator is just that, a myth.

    NONE of the candidates would have had a chance to beat any Democrat with Trump hanging around their necks except Rubio. He’s walking a tight rope of not alienating Trump’s non racist supporters while also trying to not alienate other voters who would slit their own throat rather than have Trump in the White House.

    Like

