On My Way Out of Brooklyn ~ random thoughts

IMG_2040

McDonald’s Ordering Kiosk in Coney Island, Brooklyn, NY

My last days in Brooklyn, I didn’t feel like cooking, so I went to McDonald’s. On this visit to Mickey D’s my belongings were packed and on a moving van and I would be leaving the next day, lock, stock, doggie and cats.

I wouldn’t have thought anything about it except that I’ve spent a lot of time in Florida over the last two years, especially the last six months. The customer service level in the Sunshine State is so superior to that in NYC it boggles the mind.

I went to the counter to place my order and was grouchily  directed to the kiosk. I placed my order and waited patiently while workers with scowls on their faces trudged back and forth getting food for patrons. In Florida, as soon as a customer walks in the door they’re greeted with, “Welcome to McDonald’s.” It’s not that way only in this fast food chain, but in every single establishment people go into.

I immediately thought of the recent increase to a $15.00 minimum wage in New York State. This kiosk must’ve eliminated one-to-two employees on this shift. But then why pay $15.00 an hour for surly employees?

About NikeChillemi

Nike Chillemi has been called a crime fictionista due to her passion for crime fiction. She writes literature that reads like pulp fiction. She likes her bad guys really bad, and her good guys smarter and better. She is the founder and chair of the Grace Awards, a member of ACFW. She has judged numerous literary awards including the Grace Awards, Carol Awards, Inspy Awards, and the Eric Hoffer Awards. View all posts by NikeChillemi

4 responses to “On My Way Out of Brooklyn ~ random thoughts

