September 11 Wrenches My Heart Again

Twin Towers Clean up

Twin Towers Clean up

 

This year September 11th is tearing my heart apart…again. I remember the first September 11th vividly. I live in Brooklyn, NY and had charred pieces of paper from offices in the Twin Towers drifting from lower Manhattan and landing in my driveway. I remember the funerals that went on and on for weeks. I live in a middle class neighborhood where many of the first responders who perished lived.

 

World Trade Center/911 Memorial fountain

World Trade Center/911 Memorial fountain

Now the site of the World Trade Center/911 Memorial has become a tourist attraction. Pedestrians walk through the site unrestricted. I’ve heard this upsets some of the family members of those lost on that horrid day. Most of the family members consider the ground to be sacred and some want it enshrined. I sympathize with them and their pain. I consider the ground to be sacred, but to me, the sacred is part of my life.

If we block off the area, frown on people walking through taking photos while snapping their gum, it will be easier to forget. I think few have forgotten. This year especially I sense that. Feelings are raw. America remembers.

Fireman's Memorial

Fireman’s Memorial

 

 

The New York City Fire Department certainly has not forgotten

 

 

 

Twin Towers Cross

Twin Towers Cross

 

 

The many volunteers have not forgotten who rushed to help in any way they could in the days after the terrorist attack.

I personally don’t know anyone who has forgotten. And this year, so many say it’s just ripping their hearts apart all over again.

About NikeChillemi

Nike Chillemi has been called a crime fictionista due to her passion for crime fiction. She writes literature that reads like pulp fiction. She likes her bad guys really bad, and her good guys smarter and better. She is the founder and chair of the Grace Awards, a member of ACFW. She has judged numerous literary awards including the Grace Awards, Carol Awards, Inspy Awards, and the Eric Hoffer Awards. View all posts by NikeChillemi

5 responses to “September 11 Wrenches My Heart Again

