The Term “RINO” ~ Republican(s) I Now Oppose

White House

In a meme on Google+, RINO, has been used to describe Republicans Jeb Bush, Chris Christie,  Marco Rubio, John Kasich, and Lindsey Graham, who are thought to be in the GOP establishment or who have won seats in “purple” states. But the term is now also being applied to Mike Huckabee, Bobby Jindal, Rand Paul, Rick Perry, Rick Santorum.

Huckabee, Jindal, Perry, and Santorum have strong conservative records. And Rand Paul is a libertarian.

The meme I’m referring to was put out by the Trump campaign. Just for the record, I have not picked a candidate and I do support Trump and his efforts. He’s revitalized the GOP campaign trail, has given it some get-up-and-go. Wow, has he. He’s brought an audience to the Republican candidates and they’re a stellar bunch with great ideas and many accomplishments. I have always liked Scott Walker. I’ve added Ted Cruz and Carly Fiorino to my potential list.

The term RINO, to my mind, has always been an ugly term I’ve chosen not to use. Not only in this latest meme, but all over social media it’s bandied about to the point it has little meaning. As far as I can tell, RINO  now has a new meaning: Republican(s) I Now Oppose.

I like a good hard political fight. I think if you dish it out, you ought to be able to take it. That’s why I didn’t feel sorry for Fox News when Trump went after them.  Not quite, but it was David vs. Goliath. And like David of old, Trump won. I have long thought news outlets and pundits should be subject to the same treatment they give to others. It’s not the job of the news media to bring a candidate down. That’s the job of the voter. Both parties have a series of “polls” called primaries and it all ends in the final “poll,” the general election. Let the voters decide. During a debate, the panel shouldn’t have more “talk-time” than the candidates, as happened in the first debate. And the panel isn’t there to be clever. They’re there to ask honest, thought provoking questions that allow the candidate(s) to present his/her positions, not trick questions or trapping questions.

However, we are in an era of the politics of destruction, where it’s not enough to defeat the opponent, but to vilify him/her. I’ve heard rants online (in back and forth comments) where Jeb Bush’s first name was ridiculed. Goodness, how banal and childish. Barbara Bush liked the name, I’m sure. Leave the name alone. Everyone has seen examples such as this. Petty attacks. Ugly attacks. He’s not our guy, let’s destroy him. I do like a good, hard political fight. I don’t mind slugging it out, but let’s keep it intelligent at least.

About NikeChillemi

Nike Chillemi has been called a crime fictionista due to her passion for crime fiction. She writes literature that reads like pulp fiction. She likes her bad guys really bad, and her good guys smarter and better. She is the founder and chair of the Grace Awards, a member of ACFW. She has judged numerous literary awards including the Grace Awards, Carol Awards, Inspy Awards, and the Eric Hoffer Awards. View all posts by NikeChillemi

11 responses to “The Term “RINO” ~ Republican(s) I Now Oppose

  • Saundra Staats McLemore

    Nike, Amen to your post today. My best to you and your writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NikeChillemi

      Sandra, Thx for the support on this one. I was a little afraid I’d be hit hard and called names, but something pushed me to post this anyway. Everyone’s been polite to me. PTL

      Like

  • Betty Owens

    Interesting post, Nike. I’m reminded of a bunch of bullies on the playground who are not content until their prey is totally humiliated. The maturity level is obvious.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NikeChillemi

      Betty, The maturity level is what I’m talking about. I do like a good political fight and there’s a lot of money at stake. Once you get into office, you become rich. Power brings personal wealth. They live at heady heights. So, it’s going to get loud. Let’s at least try to keep it intelligent.

      The ones in power now are just a mite anxious. I think that’s good. I like when the mighty quake a bit.

      Liked by 1 person

  • MarlaHughes

    Great points, although you know I completely disagree with you about Trump. LOVE your new definition of RINO!!!

    Like

    • NikeChillemi

      Marla, Yep, we disagree on Trump. I’m enjoying him. I posted this around on FB and expected to get castigated, but didn’t. PTL I must have angelic cover on this one. In one FB group the discussion went on and on. Some of it thoughtful, but some was conspiracy theory. Some of it was virulent against Mexicans as a race. It’s out there. Glad I ventured into the water.

      Like

  • Peg Phifer

    Nike, I love this post. And I also like Donald Trump. And Scott Walker–I’m from Wisconsin :)–I also like Ted Cruz, and Ben Carson. However, unlike you, I’m not brave enough to declare my thoughts publicly. I lost every debate class/session in high school, mostly because I’m not quick enough with my thoughts. I always end up saying “I wish I’d thought of that, but now it’s too late” and I end up with egg on my face.

    Thanks for this post and your stand. I’m with you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • NikeChillemi

      Peg, My dad was an English teacher, the director of the senior play, and the school’s debate coach. I tried out for debate and wasn’t that good at it, but I did learn a few things from it. I think I had angelic protection on this article because nobody has attacked me yet and I’ve posted it on every political group I could think of on FB and Google+. Whew! Thank you God for the assist.

      I like Walker, Cruz, and Ben Carson has my total respect. It’s still a long, long campaign. It’s just begun.

      Liked by 1 person

  • P. T. Bradley

    Love this post! And I want like buttons on my comments like you have! 🙂

    Like

  • Debbie Erickson

    I’m not sure my last post went through because it’s late and I actually fell asleep…lol. I agree with you. I don’t think It’ll change. Trump speaks his mind and people like that because they’re tired of the deceit, however, I’m leaning toward Dr. Ben Carson and Cruz.

    Nice post!

    Like

