Assaulted by a Cat ~ I’m Almost Ashamed To Say

Mimzie, our feral cat.

Mimzie, our feral cat.

 

I have several cuts on my arms .

If I wasn’t most definitely in my prime, some might speculate age 39 (ooops my nose is growing) ~ though a lady never should tell her age… At any rate, if I wasn’t well beyond my teenage years, one look at my armss and some might think I was an adolescent cutter. Not so! Not at all.

I have a feral cat named Mimzie and was merely trying to clean her ears. [Shh, don’t tell her I said so, but feral cats are somewhat deranged.]

The upshot is, she got away without me achieving my goal. So, I tired to sneak up on her the next day.  She’s partially deaf, which makes the sneaking up not too difficult, but she’s quick and determined not to be held onto.

You’ll notice her crooked lip-line. That’s due to lost teeth. However, what teeth she’s got left sunk into my arm, fortunately, not too deeply.

IMG_1678

 

This soon became a two-woman operation. I enlisted the help of my daughter Delayne, and we had to block the staircase so Mimsie couldn’t get up there to hide.

 

 

 

IMG_1677

 

I can’t help but be reminded of that old meme, “How To Give A Cat A Pill.” Ah, the joys of cat ownership. I promise you, she’s not choking the cat, just trying to hold onto her.

 

 

 

For those of you who would like to lead “cruelty-free” lives (meaning you purchase products that do not test on animals, here’s a short and very incomplete list of affordable companies who sell in drug stores and supermarkets, and do not test on animals.

Cosmetics and Personal Care:

Aveda [Estee Lauder]

Caswell-Massey: fragrance, bath & body – can be purchased on Amazon

Elf Cosmetics: Target, most chain drug stores

Kiss My Face: skin care –  in most chain drug stores and supermarkets

Milani Cosmetics: sold in most chain drug stores

Paul Mitchell Hair Products:  most chain drug stores and beauty supply stores

Physicians Formula: make up – sold in most chain drug stores

Queen Helene: hair products, skin care, personal care – sold in most chain drug stores and supermarkets

Shiff: vitamins, in most chain drug stores and supermarkets

Toms of Maine: toothpaste – in most chain drug stores and supermarkets

Wet ‘n Wild: cosmetics, nail products – in most chain stores and supermarkets

White Rain: hair products, in most chain drug stores and supermarkets

 

Household Products:

Bon Ami: scouring cleanser, sold in supermarkets

Brillo: scouring pad, sold in supermarkets

Nature’s Miracle: pet odor destroyer, PETCO, most pet shops

 

Most of these products are “made in America” and do not have ingredients that will cause cancer, or cause other physical harm. Why do you suppose the other companies test on animals? It’s because they’re using potentially harmful chemicals.

Note: the box must say “cruelty-free” “no animal testing” or have a bunny on it. Most of the companies who a few years ago didn’t test on animals have gone back to testing. Why? Because China requires animal testing to sell in their country and these companies quickly gave up their principles. You’ll notice that most celebrities no longer do “cruelty free” ads. That’s because they’re signed with large cosmetics firms that have gone back to testing. How quickly they too gave up their principles.

About NikeChillemi

Nike Chillemi has been called a crime fictionista due to her passion for crime fiction. She writes literature that reads like pulp fiction. She likes her bad guys really bad, and her good guys smarter and better. She is the founder and chair of the Grace Awards, a member of ACFW. She has judged numerous literary awards including the Grace Awards, Carol Awards, Inspy Awards, and the Eric Hoffer Awards. View all posts by NikeChillemi

Comments are disabled.

