Soccer, Murder, and Terrorists

 

Courtesy of FreeImages by zeafonso

Courtesy of FreeImages by zeafonso

 

 

I had the basic plot mapped out of DEADLY DESIGNS, the second novel in the Veronica “Ronnie” Ingels/Dawson Hughes series. Soccer featured prominently. One of the villains (perhaps the kidnapper and murderer…you’ll have to read the book when it comes out to find out) was a soccer fanatic. He also had links to possible Islamic terrorism.

 

 

Courtesy of FreeImages by tutu55

Courtesy of FreeImages by tutu55

 

So there I was, in my own world, writing along, strengthening the plot, deepening the characters, piling on conflict when I learned soccer could be seen as a huge crime to certain Islamists. A little research shook my sensibilities. I discovered in 2012 Iranian cartoonist Mahmoud Shokraiyeh was sentenced to 25 lashings for drawing a parliament member in a soccer jersey. More recently, 13 Iraqi fellows were executed by ISIS for watching a soccer game.  This floored me and gave DEADLY DESIGNS relevance I had not anticipated.

 

The final draft of DEADLY DESIGNS is close at hand. I don’t have a cover yet, and find my mind has been boggled by the insanity of real life. I do expect to have the novel released this spring.

 

 

 

Text

About NikeChillemi

Nike Chillemi has been called a crime fictionista due to her passion for crime fiction. She writes literature that reads like pulp fiction. She likes her bad guys really bad, and her good guys smarter and better. She is the founder and chair of the Grace Awards, a member of ACFW. She has judged numerous literary awards including the Grace Awards, Carol Awards, Inspy Awards, and the Eric Hoffer Awards. View all posts by NikeChillemi

12 responses to “Soccer, Murder, and Terrorists

