REVENGE by Paula Rose ~ an intriguing author interview

Revenge
Nike: I was first attracted by your title and cover. I think they speak to the contemporary murder mystery and romantic suspense environment. So then, I read a sample on Amazon and bought the Kindle copy of your book. Can you tell us how you chose your title and cover design?

Paula: My villain chose my story title as he steered the plot to a more sinister version of himself then I thought of originally. These characters almost wrote themselves into the story despite my best efforts of writing the story my way. In the end, it all worked but it’s clear the muse doesn’t always listen to me.

This amazing cover design was crafted by Laura Heritage from Anaiah Press!
Nike: Olivia Foster is totally dedicated to her autistic clients. I really like that about her personality. But she is a bit oblivious to the harsher realities of life and finds herself in mess. Can you tell us a bit about that without giving anything away?

Paula: In Revenge, the death of her brother led Olivia Foster into her career choice, but she is too focused on her job and its duties. You are correct in that she is oblivious to the harsher realities in life until they come hunt her down. Her education in fear is just beginning on page one of REVENGE.
Nike: Tell us something about you as an author? What are your passions in life that might one day show up in your writing? What inspires you to write?

Paula: As an author, sometimes, I know exactly where my story is going, but most times, I have only a loose idea and am surprised as things happen. I write because I have stories to tell and many characters to meet. To go deep into a tale is something I truly enjoy.

Pictures have become a passion in my life. As I’m amateur photographer, my pictures are already intertwined with my writing as I have muse pictures for scenes and plot questions. I can see me writing a story about a photographer, making the pictures the dangerous part of a story. Some of my muse pics appear on Pinterest.

Isolated

This image is entitled “Isolated.” Paula used it as an inspirational muse when writing REVENGE. You can find more of Paula’s photographic inspirations at her Pinterest board: Muse Inspirations.

Scenes

 

Here is a photo from Paula’s Pinterest Board entitled: Scenes. These are photos Paula uses to inspire her in her writing.

 

Nike: You mentioned that your villain titled and changed your story. Did the other characters behave the way you wanted?

Paula: Olivia Foster’s fiery personality changed the plot in a major way. She ditched the officer bodyguards! That scene wasn’t ever in my story. However, plotting was an even more difficult task because of detective, Phillip Landon.

Detective Lt. Phillip Landon refused to fit the characteristics of an Alpha male. This man’s career doubts and back story made him, at times, unapproachable, but he was turning into someone I didn’t know anymore. He started out with one personality, but as he grew, his background changed adding layers of baggage. In the end, he wasn’t the same man that I had first envisioned.

 

Book Blurb:

As a job coach, it’s up to Olivia Foster to ensure her clients work in a safe environment, understand their positions, and serve their employer’s mission. The death of her brother drives her career choice, and she loves her job. It remains her only focus until one of her autistic clients goes missing. Then Olivia’s employer ends her position and adds her to the suspect list, but she makes plans to bring the missing young man home.

Detective Lt. Phillip Landon is deep into second-guessing his career choice, but his well-honed instincts see major flaws inside this missing person’s case. Surprising contacts, mysterious happenings, and threats can turn deadly. Can he keep Olivia safe, protect his heart, remove the job coach from someone’s target list, and adopt a faith he never knew all while adjusting to the new lives of his old family?

 

Author Bio:

Author Paula Rose brings an “average” family into extraordinary situations, brushes with life-size strokes of reality, adding just a touch of humor, and coats with suspense inside Christian fiction. Paula’s research gives readers a panoramic view from law enforcement and lends to character authenticity. She enjoys writing in the romantic suspense, suspense, and mystery genres, but when she’s not writing, Paula Rose is playing amateur photographer. Member of ACFW.

 

More Purchase Lnks:

Amazon: http://amzn.to/13x45kB
Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/13x4bbW
iBooks: http://bit.ly/1xjbjqt
Kobo: http://bit.ly/1xp6KI0
Smashwords: http://bit.ly/1zoDRN5
Amazon.co.uk: http://amzn.to/1EucMg1

About NikeChillemi

Nike Chillemi has been called a crime fictionista due to her passion for crime fiction. She writes literature that reads like pulp fiction. She likes her bad guys really bad, and her good guys smarter and better. She is the founder and chair of the Grace Awards, a member of ACFW. She has judged numerous literary awards including the Grace Awards, Carol Awards, Inspy Awards, and the Eric Hoffer Awards. View all posts by NikeChillemi

One response to “REVENGE by Paula Rose ~ an intriguing author interview

