The Mystery of an Upstate NY Thanksgiving

I spent Thanksgiving with my brother Michael and his wife Laura. As I drove north from Brooklyn with my sweet little dog Sophie, we were encountering increasingly stormy weather. I was driving into a snowy nor’easter.

IMG_1349

 

When Michael, Laura, and I arrived at my brother’s in laws, it was a frozen winter wonderland. This is a photo of Laura’s daughter’s front yard.

 

 

IMG_1347

The power was out due to the storm, so they had to go down the road to folks who had power and borrow their generator to cook the turkey. By the time we got there the power had been restored, thankfully.

 

 

IMG_1355

 

My brother Michael and little Sophie and what I was nearly sure had to be the Hound of the Baskervilles. Would you believe, this dog is still a puppy?

 

 

IMG_1359

 

 

Moi with the pup. This dog is licking-liscious. He loves giving kisses.

 

 

 

IMG_1357

Brother and sister-in-law Laura with Kagan the ChiChi and my little Sophie. And there’s the big pup sticking his nose in. He had to be absolutely everywhere.

 

 

 

 

IMG_1374

 

 

This is the village Michael and I grew up in.

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1368IMG_1369This is the village “walking path.” It might not be visible, but to the extreme left in the second photo is a bench. When we were kids there was no bench. About a mile back this lane leads to a creek where we used to swim. The lane was much more rugged then and on either side of the trees were cow pastures.

IMG_1370Don’t know why, but it seems wherever I go with my trusty camera, I attract a police presence. The village cop wanted to see who was walking around back there so bright and early the morning after Thanksgiving. He saw me taking pictures and gave me a wave.

About NikeChillemi

Nike Chillemi has been called a crime fictionista due to her passion for crime fiction. She writes literature that reads like pulp fiction. She likes her bad guys really bad, and her good guys smarter and better. She is the founder and chair of the Grace Awards, a member of ACFW. She has judged numerous literary awards including the Grace Awards, Carol Awards, Inspy Awards, and the Eric Hoffer Awards. View all posts by NikeChillemi

8 responses to “The Mystery of an Upstate NY Thanksgiving

