The Glamorous Digs of an NYPD Precinct Detective

We all see the pristine, spacious offices and shiny cubicles of police detectives on television. So, I was somewhat shocked to see my where the detectives were quartered at my local police precinct.

IMG_0290

 

 

 

 

 

I’m sure I must’ve taken a wrong turn somewhere.

IMG_0291

 

 

 

 

 

Actually, this seems to be it.

IMG_0293

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes, indeed, this is it. Right up there it says, “DETECTIVES.”

Actually, I’m impressed with the way they’ve handled shabby-chic to perfection.

IMG_0294

 

 

 

 

 

What impeccable interior decorating skills. I can only conclude that these aging file cabinets are here solely for their “vintage effect.”

IMG_0295

 

 

 

 

 

Taking a closer look, I see this is the door through which detectives go for “roll call.” Oh, my, this doesn’t look anything like the duty rooms I’ve seen on television. Clearly the interior decorator who designed this precinct was going for another look. That’s got to be it.

About NikeChillemi

Nike Chillemi has been called a crime fictionista due to her passion for crime fiction. She writes literature that reads like pulp fiction. She likes her bad guys really bad, and her good guys smarter and better. She is the founder and chair of the Grace Awards, a member of ACFW. She has judged numerous literary awards including the Grace Awards, Carol Awards, Inspy Awards, and the Eric Hoffer Awards. View all posts by NikeChillemi

7 responses to “The Glamorous Digs of an NYPD Precinct Detective

  • Brittius

    You forgot to photograph the coffee burning about 12 hours, and that glass pot is stained from the sludge. The tank desks with the cuff ring. The holding cell. The sparkling windows with 25 years of grime.
    Proper business attire, but really, the décor, we called it, “Early Wino”.

    Like

    • NikeChillemi

      Brittus, I should’ve gotten a shot of all those things, but didn’t want to make a pest of myself with my camera. And I didn’t want to photograph any people. I’d have to get them to sign releases, and at that point I would’ve gotten a less than stellar response from those who protect and serve. LOL So, I got the shots I could.

      Like

      • Brittius

        (Your supposed to have prior written authorization to take photographs inside of any precinct.)
        At least you missed the lounge. Decrepit chairs and beat up sofa that smells like armpits. The trash overflowing with pizza boxes, Styrofoam cups, Chinese take-out containers, old newspapers. Three mice that have names, one responds when you call it.

        Like

  • NikeChillemi

    Well, I didn’t have prior permission. I’m going to have to find out what exactly the rule is and if it’s law. I was careful not to photograph anything that could possibly be sensitive in any way.

    Like

  • P. T. Bradley

    I toured the Memphis Homicide Dept once. They have a nicer room…much more spacious. lol Wish I’d taken photos, but that was before camera phones.

    Like

  • gpcox

    Good going, Nike. That pix is straight out of a “Barney Miller” episode. (Uh-oh, there I go dating myself again!) Brittius is funny too.

    Like

