Danger at the Door by Michelle Sutton ~ A Perspective of Thanksgiving

I’m so happy to have Michelle Sutton’s heroine of DANGER AT THE DOOR, Laney Cooper, here with Thanksgiving approaching. I understand this holiday has quite a few memories for you, Laney — some of them bittersweet. After your fiancé’s death in a car accident, you became quite reclusive and fearful, but then you met a very charming man who you befriended and tried to help speak correct English. As it turned out Bojan (who you begin to call Bob) wound up helping you. Since I want to get to know all about you, let’s get on to the interview.

Nike: How was it for you that first Thanksgiving after Sam’s death? You must have missed him terribly and yet you had a new friendship with a terrific guy on the horizon.
Laney:  It was very hard. I tried to have a commemorative meal to say goodbye and try to move on and then this guy brought my order and it was loaded with onions. I despise them. But the food blunder did snap me out of my pity party a bit, especially when the handsome delivery man tried to fix things and redid my order to try and make things up to me. That was sweet of him.
Nike:  Bojan/Bob brought a Thanksgiving feast to you at your house, but no turkey. What type of food did he bring and did he cook it himself? He works in a restaurant. So, is he a good cook? How did you feel celebrating Thanksgiving without the bird and the usual trimmings?
Laney: Wow, that’s a lot of questions. We both agreed that it would be silly to cook a turkey when there were only two of us eating dinner. So he agreed to make a special Macedonian dish that his family often ate during holidays and at special occasions. Since he agreed to make the food and bring it over, I wasn’t about to say no. I don’t like cooking much, and yes, the chicken dish was unlike anything I’d ever eaten before, but it was really tasty. I think we’ve started a new tradition as long as there are only two of us. If we end up with a big family or his relatives over in the future, well, then I’ll worry about cooking a big turkey at that time. I don’t care if it’s turkey or chicken as long as I am celebrating with someone I love.
Nike: Apparently, you got Bojan/Bob into some sort of trouble. You made a complaint? What was that all about?
Laney: Well, I called the restaurant a few times on him. The first time was when I thought he was being rude and brought my dinner loaded with onions. I felt bad after he brought me a replacement dinner. But then he was rude to me again and said he thought I was “whacked out” or nuts, if you will. I found out later that his jerk of an employee put him up to it. Then I felt bad for him. How was I to know that Bob owned the place and that his employee thought it would be funny to set up his boss. I thought he was just a pizza delivery guy when we first met. Actually, I didn’t know about his money and that he owned several restaurants until I’d already fallen for him.
Nike: I’ll bet your relationship with Bojan/Bob taught your something about the attitude of thanksgiving, blessing, and grace. Could you comment on that?
Laney: The only thing I really love about Bojan is that he feels so deeply about so many things. He loves his family, his country and he loves me. I’ve never met a man who was more passionate about God and about his commitment to his family before I met Bojan. That melted my heart. I kept thinking, “I wish someone would love me like that.” I’m so glad that God brought him into my life. And everything I wished for came true. He does love me like that. I couldn’t ask for a better man to love.
  
Nike: We’ve talked a lot about spirituality and thanksgiving, but your story is one of suspense. Can you tell us a bit about the feeling you had of being watched?
Laney: It was nerve-wracking to say the least. At one point I thought maybe I was losing my mind. And to find out that not only was this creep watching me, but he was waiting to get me alone so he could…well, I’d rather not go into that part. It makes me sick to think about him. I’m just glad he can’t hurt me anymore. Bob still laughs at me when he described how I fought that nutcase in my house. I suppose I did look like a psycho woman with that fireplace poker. But he’d gone after my man and though Bojan put up a good fight, I could sit by and take my chances. I didn’t want to lose the man I loved.
  
Nike:  Laney, I want to ask you a delicate question about Michelle Sutton. She wrote something in this novel that touched me:  “She could easily get lost in the heat of him if she had no moral convictions. But she did have convictions. She had to remember that or she’d get into a compromising situation she didn’t want or need.” That line, “She could easily get lost in the heat of him,” is tasteful, yet says it all without spelling it out. Christians do, after all, have fully functioning bodies. What do you think about the way Michelle writes the more sensual scenes?
Laney: Well, when I was in Michelle’s head and she was creating the passion between us, I know she toned down those flames to keep the reader from visualizing too much. I’d saved myself for the man I would marry someday. I thought that man would be Sam, and though I still miss him, I am so glad that God gave me a tender man in Bojan. He was never pushy toward me and always respected my wishes. But man, does he have a hot accent, and those eyes could melt the hardest of hearts. So I had to be smart and not get carried away with him when we were in my house alone. I’m glad I waited. I think Michelle wanted to convey that no matter how much passion a man brings out in a woman, it’s always worth waiting for marriage before letting things get so heated that there is no turning back. But boy could that man stoke my fire with a smoldering gaze or the gentle brush of his lips. And that soft exploring he does with his tongue when we kiss… Ah, there is just nothing like it. I’m glad he’s all mine. Though I loved Sam dearly, I never shared the kind of passion with him that I feel when I am with Bojan. I had no idea that love could give me such an intense response to a man. I’m glad Sam is with Jesus, because he was a believer, and knowing that Sam loved me a lot, well, I can’t help thinking that he’d be glad that I still found happiness with Bojan after he passed away. Sam would want what was best for me. He had always been kind that way.
If people enjoy reading Danger at the Door then they might want to check out In Plain Sight. It’s the sequel but they are not tied together officially as I wrote each as a stand alone so people need to be told that IPS has the characters from DATD in it and continues their story.
Michelle Sutton is the author of over a dozen inspirational novels. She lives in sunny Arizona with her husband and two college age sons.
Healing Hearts – fiction making an impact on real lives…author of over a dozen novels – available in 2011… First Response (June 2011) Their Separate Ways (July 2011) Letting Go (August 2011) In Sheep’s Clothing (Sept 2011) and When Love Collides (Dec 2011)
Purchas Links:
DANGER AT THE DOOR  ~

LETTING GO (HEARLIN HEARTS) ~

Amazon. http://tinyurl.com/3cdowsf

Barnes & Noble. http://tinyurl.com/3u3e7rb

Michelle’s Website. http://michellesutton.net/

About NikeChillemi

Nike Chillemi has been called a crime fictionista due to her passion for crime fiction. She writes literature that reads like pulp fiction. She likes her bad guys really bad, and her good guys smarter and better. She is the founder and chair of the Grace Awards, a member of ACFW. She has judged numerous literary awards including the Grace Awards, Carol Awards, Inspy Awards, and the Eric Hoffer Awards. View all posts by NikeChillemi

5 responses to “Danger at the Door by Michelle Sutton ~ A Perspective of Thanksgiving

  • Anonymous

    Danger at the Door and In Plain Sight are two of the best books Michelle Sutton ever wrote. I loved them both. Yes, you can read one without the other, but why would you want to? When you read Danger at the Door, you'll want to read In Plain Sight. I know, because I did. These two characters have a nontraditional Thanksgiving without the bird, but make their own special memories and Thanksgiving while they're at it. And, oh Babe, wait until you find out about Babe. If I hadn't already read these two novels, I'd grab them both for my Thanksgiving reads. Blessings and Happy Thanksgiving. Happy reading, BJ Robinson

    Like

  • Nike Chillemi

    Wow!!! Barbara, Guess you really liked the books. :)Thanks for giving Michelle that ringing endorsement. 🙂

    Like

  • Sheila Deeth

    What a wonderful interview. These characters do get into our heads. Sounds a great Thanksgiving book.

    Like

  • Nike Chillemi

    Sheila, The one thing Michelle Sutton can absolutely positutely do is get into the reader's head.

    Like

