Desert Breeze and Me ~ 2nd Anniversary Blog Tour




I’m trhilled to be part of the Desert Breeze Second Year Anniversary Blog Tour. Heck, I’m thrilled to be part of Desert Breeze. Period!!! [Gail would never let me get away with using three exclamation points in my novels, so I’ll do it here. Giggle. I’m such a bad girl.]

I’m a new kid on the block at Desert Breeze. My debut Novel, BURNING HEARTS, will release on May 15th. I couldn’t be happier at DBP. It’s a nice place to be.

I went the usual route. About five years ago, I thought I had a novel or two in me. Thought I had a calling to write. It took a year of tossing the idea around to get me to actually sit at a computer and start putting words together. Then it took another year to write a really, awful…as in terrible first novel.

Then it took another three years to learn the craft of fiction writing. It’s not the same as writing an “A” paper in college, not by a long shot.

I entered a few writing contests and was told I had a unique voice for suspense. Then while going to various Christina writing online writing sites, I met several Desert Breeze authors, who it were the nicest and most helpful souls.

I attended a writing conference where I had the usual fifteen-minute appointments with agents. Again heard that I had a unique voice for suspense. But I was also getting comments that my technical writing style had an equal measure of suspense, action, romance, and a good ‘n heavy dose of humor. An agent asked for my full manuscript and I sent it to her as soon as I got back from the conference. She loves reading murder mysteries, but represents straight romance. So, she turned me down.


It was then that I paid attention to a quiet inner prompting. Desert Breeze came to mind at the oddest times. I prayed about it and had peace.

So, I looked up the submission requirements — always a good idea. I submitted and Gail offered a contract for my Sanctuary Point series. BURNING HEARTS is the first in the series.


Can a sheltered young seamstress, disillusioned by the horrors of WWII, escape an arsonist/murderer who has killed her employer and mentor, while trying to decide if she can trust the dashing war hero who’s ridden into town on his Harley—who some say is the murderer?


Erica Brogna’s parents doted on her and taught her to think for herself. Many boys she grew up with have fallen in the war, shaking her childhood faith. In rides a handsome stranger, at the hour of her most desperate need. A woman who is her best friend and mentor is trapped in a burning house. After making an unsuccessful rescue attempt, Erica stands by as this man rushes into the inferno and carries her friend’s lifeless body out.  

Lorne Kincade can’t out run his past on his Harley Davidson WLA, the civilian model of the motorcycle he rode in the war. He’s tried. He’s been a vagabond biker in the year since the war ended. His Uncle Ivar bequeathed him a ramshackle cottage in Sanctuary Point, on the Great South Bay of Long Island, NY and now he’d like to hope for a future again, repair the miniscule place, and settle down. The only problem is, a young woman with hair the color of mink is starting to get under his skin and that’s the last thing he needs.
About NikeChillemi

Nike Chillemi has been called a crime fictionista due to her passion for crime fiction. She writes literature that reads like pulp fiction. She likes her bad guys really bad, and her good guys smarter and better. She is the founder and chair of the Grace Awards, a member of ACFW. She has judged numerous literary awards including the Grace Awards, Carol Awards, Inspy Awards, and the Eric Hoffer Awards. View all posts by NikeChillemi

18 responses to “Desert Breeze and Me ~ 2nd Anniversary Blog Tour

