I Just Might Be An Author Groupie

I’ve been wondering if I’m an author groupie. How’s that? Well, when I go ga-ga over someone, I really go ga-ga.

Right now I’m totally enthralled by James Scott Bell’s Ty Buchanan who first appeared in Try Dying. Which leads me to believe my groupie status in this case is character driven. I found myself falling into the dark abyss with Ty, scouring L.A.’s under belly as he sought his fiance’s killer. After attorney Ty got pulverized a couple of times by thugs, I could vivildy see the shock and dismay written across his senior partner’s face when Ty came into the office with his face rearranged. Call me sadistic, but my lips twitched with a smirk reading those lines.

I also went totally berzeko over Robert Liparulo’s Comes A Horseman, loved Liparulo’s way with words, his imagery. Loved being terrified by the twists and turns in the story. There’s also something rivetting about a female FBI agent who breaks all the rules. It’s like, oh-oh what kind of trouble is she going to get her partner into this time? For about a month after reading the book, it seemed every literary word out of my mouth was “Robert Liparulo,” until my friends and associates cried, “Enough already, there must be somebody else who writes.”

I did that with Rene Gutteridge’s incredibly zany Boo series. Oh yeah, goes without saying I made, “boo,” the punch line of many a book discussion. I was definitey ga-ga. My compulsion was character driven in part. To be sure, I was taken with main character Wolfe Boone, a writer who finds Christ and gives up his lucrative career as a horror novelist. However, my groupie status in this case was more setting driven. I fell completely in love with the fictitious town of Skary, IL and it’s off-the-wall inhabitants.

I’m also loyal when I go ga-ga. One of the first author’s I went totally nutzomania over was Cheryl Wyatt. I love her humor and wit in the midst of heart pounding romance. I’m also taken by her dedication to an accurate portrayal of the group of special ops soldiers she’s created as characters for her Wings of Refuge series. I was bragging about Cheryl for months and months. Still do!!!

I’ve also gone bonkers over a couple of noir authors. Robert Crais is one of them. In this case my groupie status is character driven. I can’t get enough of his Elvis Cole/Joe Pike partnership. Elvis, a former Army Ranger and now a wise cracking L.A. private detective, is the main character in nearly all of the series’ books. He’s a Mickey Mouse watch wearing guy who never grew up, billing himself as the World’s Greatest Detective, and he just might be. Two books have been in enigmatic and stoic Joe Pike’s point of view. Pike, a former spec ops Marine, now a gun shop owner,  is a silent partner in their detective agency. Trust me, Pike’s a guy who could sneak up on a cat unawares. Gotta luv that in an operative.

Then there’s Michael Connelly, the consumate writer of police procedurals. Connelly was the L. A. Time’s crime beat reporter for twenty-five years, so he knows the turf. His homicide detective Harry Bosch has a dark past and a complicated present. Bosch thinks of homicide as he own personal mission. He tackles every case (the killing of the poorest, most insignificant person to the murder of the most powerful and wealthy) with a vengeance. His motto is, “everybody counts or nobody counts.” Every time I finish one of Connelly’s books, I wish he’d write faster.

About NikeChillemi

Nike Chillemi has been called a crime fictionista due to her passion for crime fiction. She writes literature that reads like pulp fiction. She likes her bad guys really bad, and her good guys smarter and better. She is the founder and chair of the Grace Awards, a member of ACFW. She has judged numerous literary awards including the Grace Awards, Carol Awards, Inspy Awards, and the Eric Hoffer Awards. View all posts by NikeChillemi

3 responses to “I Just Might Be An Author Groupie

