Confessions of a Book Maniac

BookIt’s true. I’m a book maniac. I’m constantly reading.

And I’ve been that way for a long, long time. Books have always been a major part of my life. Many times, way into the wee hours of the night my nose will be stuck deep in a page turner. I’ve always got a book tucked into my purse, and you’d probably find a paperback in the glove compartment of my car. There’s probably even a good chance that one got lost somewhere under the seat.

Whether with a night light on while in bed, or wrapped up in an afghan on the couch, I can most often be found curled up with a good book. The best time for my kids to get a “Yes” out of me is when they see that I’m at the very end of a mystery…about to find out who the murderer is. That’s the best time for them to come up softly beside me and ask, “Mom, can I open the box of chocolate chip cookies in the cupboard?” Transfixed by the momentum of the author’s prose, as I frantically turn pages to learn who dun it, I’m most likely to go something like, “Uhn Hunh,” or “Ahh Uh Huh.” Which they take immediately for a resounding, unqualified “YES!”

My passion is murder mysteries or thrillers, usually something in the Christian suspense fiction genre. I’m also bonkers for cookbooks, especially Christmas cookbooks. I love the ones that have color pictures of the finished dish set beautifully on a holiday table.

Some of the authors in the Christian mystery/suspense genre I just can’t get enough of are: Gayle Roper, Margaret Daley, Lyn Cote, Hannah Alexander, Rene Gutteridge and Terri Blackstock. I comb the Steeple Hill sight and Amazon to see when these authors are coming out with new books.

Two non-mystery books that just gripped me and totally affected me are: “The Holy Spirit, Activating God’s Power in Your Life” by Billy Graham and “Simple Faith” by Charles R. Swindoll. I’d recommend those two to just about anyone.

About NikeChillemi

Nike Chillemi has been called a crime fictionista due to her passion for crime fiction. She writes literature that reads like pulp fiction. She likes her bad guys really bad, and her good guys smarter and better. She is the founder and chair of the Grace Awards, a member of ACFW. She has judged numerous literary awards including the Grace Awards, Carol Awards, Inspy Awards, and the Eric Hoffer Awards. View all posts by NikeChillemi

One response to “Confessions of a Book Maniac

