Springtime Brings To My Mind ~ Beauty Without Cruelty

My big baby Roscoe

My big baby Roscoe

As we go into spring, I begin focusing on birds chirping away and I think of little bunnies frolicking merrily in the field. I think of puppies and kittens about to be born.

One of the distinguishing features in many of my novels is the presence of beloved pets. GOODBYE NOEL has Blanka, PERILOUS SHADOWS has Aggie. My new whodunit, HARMFUL INTENT, to come out at the end of the month, has Henry and Rascal.

Titania, from a Shakespearean comedy

Titania, from a Shakespearean comedy

 

Before I ever seriously put words together in a scene intending them to be published, I was an animal rescuer. Not long after I got saved, I met a gal through church friends who ran a rescue organization. And I joined up with her to rescue dogs and cats in Brooklyn. I even had a mini-selter in my basement with a four-by four-by four-foot cage for a large breed dog or two smaller breed canines, and three large cat cages. Lillian’s organization rescued hundreds of animals and I personally rescued about fifty. I trapped them, even chased a few down alleys. That was twenty-five years ago. Most of them got adopted, but my husband and I wound up keeping the eccentric ones. That’s code for unsocial and unadoptable. After I got out of rescuing, people would show up on my stoop with an animals they could not get adopted begging me to take the garrulous beast. With time, patience, and love they all turned into more than pets, family members. The photos in this article are the animals that wound up living with us in our home over the years . Some have passed, but most are still with us.

Trouble. Can you guess how he got his name?

Trouble. Can you guess how he got his name?

 

I tell you all this to say, that it saddens me to know an issue I thought had been fought and won has lost serious ground. That is animal testing by cosmetics, fragrance, and soap companies, quite a few designer labels. Many of the prominent companies that touted how enlightened they were and loudly proclaimed they were not testing on animals, seem to no longer be enlightened and compassionate. You see, China requires testing on animals if the product is to be sold withing its borders. These companies see huge profits via millions of sales in China and our little furry friends have lost out. Even though everyone knows it is NOT NECESSARY to test on animals.

Mimzie, a feral cat with asthma I trapped who cared so lovingly for her kittens. She and her babies have been with us for four years.

Mimzie, a feral cat with asthma I trapped who cared so lovingly for her kittens. She and her babies have been with us for four years.

 

I won’t go into any of the gory details of animals testing. Trust me they are horrific. I don’t know how people can go into work every day in these demonic places.

Below are links where you can find products that are not tested on animals. A few of the easily obtained and/or major brands are: Abercrombe & Fitch,  Aubrey Organics, Aveda, Bath and Body Works, The Body Shop, Bon Ami, Bonne Bell, Burts Bees, Calgon, Caswell-Massey, Christine Valmy, Conair, Crabtree & Evelyn, Disney Fairies, Disney Princess, Dr. Bronner’s, Freeman’s, Georgette Klinger, Hello Kitty, Henri Bendel, Jessica McClintock, Kirk’s Natural Products, Kiss My Face, Lander, Liz Claiborne, Martha Stewart Clean, Martha Stewart Pets, Mary Kay, Merle Norman, Milani, Mitchum Deodorant, Nordstrom Cosmetics, Nu Skin, Paul Mitchell, Physicians Formula, Perscriptives, Queene Helene, Stanley Home Products, Strawberry Shortcake, Tom’s of Maine, Tussy, Weleda, Wet ‘n Wild.

Here are links for more companies….complete listings.

http://www.globalanimal.org/2010/12/06/companies-that-dont-test-on-animals-resource/

http://www.leapingbunny.org/shopsearch.php

This one has a complete listing you can go through by topic: makeup, hair, nails, body, skin. It even has cruelty free drug store finds. Go through the site carefully. It’s a fun site: http://www.mybeautybunny.com/

Meadow taking a winter's nap.

Meadow taking a winter’s nap.

 

 

About NikeChillemi

Nike Chillemi has been called a crime fictionista due to her passion for crime fiction. She writes literature that reads like pulp fiction. She likes her bad guys really bad, and her good guys smarter and better. She is the founder and chair of the Grace Awards, a member of ACFW. She has judged numerous literary awards including the Grace Awards, Carol Awards, Inspy Awards, and the Eric Hoffer Awards. View all posts by NikeChillemi

3 responses to “Springtime Brings To My Mind ~ Beauty Without Cruelty

